Ladies Football Club - Longford Slashers GAA

Longford Slashers Ladies Junior Champions 2017


Longford Slashers Ladies Club was founded in the early eighties and won Senior championship & league titles in 1981 & 1982.  After a number of years in existence it subsequently went into hibernation but was reformed in 2008 and is happy to be associated with the Longford Slashers GAA club which has being in existence since 1954.

Since our reformation we have enjoyed championship successes at U12, U14, U16, Minor, Junior, Intermediate & Senior level. Our U14 team represented Longford in the Feile na nÓg finals in Derry in 2013 and Connaught in 2014. Our Senior team were runners up in the Leinster Intermediate championship in 2021.

Since 2012, our minor teams have won the A championship 6 years in a row and our teams have won U16 & U14 championships over these years.

Our Junior team won the Junior A championship in 2017 after reaching the championship final in 4 out of the previous 5 years. This followed winning the Division 3 League in 2013 and the Division 2 title in 2016. In 2018 they followed on from their Junior Championship success to land the Intermediate title at the first sign of asking. They completed their rise back to the top when they won the Senior championship final in 2019 and completed a 3 in row in 2021 cementing their rise from Junior to Senior winners. They followed up their 3 in a row success when they reached the Leinster Intermediate final in 2021 and ended up runners up to St. Sylvesters (Dublin) who went on to win the All Ireland title.

We have representation at all levels of county football with two players on the Longford All Ireland Junior winning squad in 2016.  With the continued dedication of our committee, mentors and parents we hope to continue to improve and grow.


Title Name Contact Number
President: Eileen Flynn
Chairperson: Bríd Nevin  087-9482793
Vice Chairperson: Gerry Shannon  087-2987880
Secretary: Eamon Kenny 086-1969733
Asst. Secretary: Philip Cox 087-2373113
Registration Officer: Eamon Kenny 086-1969733
Fixtures Secretary: Aiden O’ Brien 087-2222761
Treasurer: Aoife O’ Brien
Asst. Treasurer: Aiden O’ Brien  087-2222761
PRO: Padraig Smith 086-0518484
County Board Delegates: Eamon Kenny 086-1969733
Gerry Shannon  087-2987880
County Board Players Delegate Aishling Cosgrove
Childrens/A.S.A.P Officer: Caroline Bergin  087-6623455
Development Officer: Ollie Barry 087-2148518
Cultural Officer Concepta Farrell 086-0671360
Injury Fund Officer Niall Caslin 087-9933539



U10: Born on or after 1st January 2012
Training starts in April and takes place on Friday evenings from 6-7pm.

U12: Born on or after 1st January 2010
Training starts in April and takes place on Friday evenings from 6-7pm.
County board matches take place on Wednesday evenings over the summer.

U14: Born on or after 1st January 2008
Training starts in April and takes place on Friday evenings from 6-7pm.
County board matches take place on Monday evenings over the summer.

U16: Born on or after 1st January 2006
Training starts in March and takes place on Monday evenings from 8-9.15pm and
Fridays from 7-8.15pm. County board matches take place on Thursday evenings.


Minor: Born on or after 1st January 2004
The minor competition doesn’t start until early September but most of the players are already training with the U16’s & Juniors over the summer.

Senior: All ages from minor up
Training starts in February and takes place on Monday evenings from 8-9.15pm and Fridays from 8-9.15pm. County board matches take place on Sundays.


U12 Selectors U14 Selectors U16 Selectors U18 Selectors Senior Selectors
Gordon Hourican Philip Cox 087-2373113 Philip Cox 087-2373113 Eamon Kenny 086-1969733 Conor Clarke
John Masterson Kathleen O’ Connell Kathleen O’ Connell Philip Cox 087-2733113 Shaun Cunningham
Denise Kelly  Denise Kelly  Gerry Shannon 087-2987880  Bryan Farrell
Padraig O’ Donnell  Padraig O’ Donnell Padraig O’ Donnell  Danny Monks
 Kathleen O’ Connell


Longford Slashers team representing County Longford at Feile na n-Óg, South Leinster, 2015.

 Féile na nÓg National tournaments took place in South Leinster (Carlow/Wicklow/Wexford) this year on the weekend of 26th – 28th June 2015

Féile na nÓg National tournaments took place in South Leinster (Carlow/Wicklow/Wexford) this year on the weekend of 26th – 28th June 2015

Sponsors for Feile 2015

Easons, Padráig Wards, Farrell & Coy, Fushia, Shaws, Courtyard Cafe, Richie Ryan, Polar Foods, Longford Motors, Shannon Bros, Shanleys Fruit and Veg, Milo Reilly, David Garland, Christy Cunningham


Please feel free to contact Caroline Bergin 087-6623455 if your are  interested in joining our club:


U10 €20
U12, U14, U16, Minor €35
Junior €50


Senior Championship Winners

1981 1982 2019 2020 2021

Intermediate Championship Winners


Junior A Championship Winners


Junior B Championship Winners

2012 2016

 Division 3 League Winners


Division 2 League Winners


Minor Championship Winners

2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018

U16 Championship Winners

2013 2014 2016

U14 Championship Winners

2010 2011 2012 2013 2015

U14 Feile Winners

2010 2011 2013 2014

U12 Championship Winners

2010 2013 2014

Latest Ladies Football News