Séan Clarke – Jun player of the year 2014

Published in News, Senior Football

Player of the year

A well deserved honour for Séan Clarke to be presented with the junior player of the year at the GAA all stars awards at the week end. Séan has been a great prospect for Slashers for the past number of years and was a nominee after starring on the Slashers Junior championship 2014 winning team V Killoe. Diarmuid McRory was another nominee for the same award on the night, having captained the team to the final, but was pipped at the post by Séan Clarke.

Maith an fear

It was great for Slashers to have two players recognised at the awards coming from a junior team that swept the board all year. The junior win allowed Slashers see many very good up and coming players go on to win a final. The team was managed by Gerry Clarke and it was a proud evening for the Clarke family to see Séan claim the top slot. Ruairí and Robbie Clarke were also part of the winning team so it was fitting that this real Slashers family had a celebration having given so much to the club. Séan has the chance on 7 Dec to top off the year with the U21 B championship medal when he lines out against Abbeylara.


The junior win was important silverware for Slashers and gave many players the winning mentality. The likes of the Clarkes including Conor who is injured will be crucial players for Slashers in the future. Other young players popped up during the campaign such as Andrew Kelly, Daniel Doherty,  Ronan Sheehan and Cian Kavanagh all of whom will be important going ahead.

 Jun Team 2014

Daniel Doherty, Barry O’Rourke, Dominic Glennon, Ronan Sheehan, Chris McGurran, Diarmaid McRory ©, Shane Dann, Andrew Lyons, Shane Campbell, Séan Clarke, Jamsie Martin, Cíarán Farrell, Robbie Clarke, Ruairí Clarke, Andrew Kelly, Subs: Martin Jennings for Chris McGurran Brian Rooney for Séan Clarke Cian Kavanagh for Ruarí Clarke