Presentation night Flipeadóirí Longfoirt

Published in News, Senior Football

Óiche den scoth

A true Slashers presentation night took place at the club last Friday evening when the various club teams gathered to celebrate 2014 victories and receive medals. MC and organiser Pat Chapman, welcomed guests and members including a great turn out of players to the annual event. Guests of honour from other counties included Deise hurler John Mullane and Mayo player Cillian O Connor. John Mullane gave a spirited talk on achieving success and the heat of senior hurling, emphasising - application, attitude and attendance. Cillian O Connor spoke about playing at the highest levels and advised young players to give it everything during the playing years because staying at the top level is short term and it is much more satisfying on the pitch than looking on from outside the fence. Winning Championship and league junior team, minor hurlers, ladies minor champion football team were all presented with cups and medals. Individual Presentations: Senior Player of the year presented by Chairman Dónal Brady to Colin Smith. Hall of Fame award - Liam Hastings Cup presented by club President Hal Carey to Gerry Clarke. Minor player of the year award - presented by Minor club Chairman, Mark Connellan to Daniel Doherty