Flipeadeóirí Longfort junior champions 2014 – Gaisce mór

Published in News, Senior Football

Team performance

An exceptional team performance from a mix of youth and experience saw the Slashers junior team carry off the cup at Pearse Park on 28 Sep against a Killoe team that were up for the game. Gaisce mór ag Flipeadóirí Longfort an lá seo. The Slashers mid-field of Andrew Lyons and Shane Campbell held sway in the middle with both winning key ball and distributing well.  A rock solid defence shepherded by Domo Glennon, Ronan Sheehan and Barry O Rourke gave great protection to Daniel Doherty and with Shane Dann, Diarmuid McRory and Sean Clarke breaking forward, the signs were good at half time.

Class marksmen

The real success was the expansive play of the forwards where the ball was sprayed around between the six marksmen and  some really good points were slotted over keeping the scoreboard ticking over and which included a Ruairí Clarke goal. Andrew Kelly, Ciarán Farrell, Robbie Clarke and Chris McGurran tormented the backs and picked off scores intelligently. James Martin gave a man of the match performance and was recognised at the end with the trophy. Martin Jennings, Cian Kavanagh and Brian Rooney ran on before Slashers came away easy winners. Captain, Diarmuid McRory collected the cup and thanked all including manager Gerry Clarke and his team. This was a very important win for the club showing that there is lots of talent available and more importantly, talent on the rise coming through.


Junior Team v Killoe (Score 1-11 to 0-7) Sunday Sept 28th 2014 Daniel Doherty, Barry O’Rourke, Dominic Glennon, Ronan Sheehan, Chris McGurran, Diarmaid McRory ©, Shane Dann, Andrew Lyons, Shane Campbell, Séan Clarke, Jamsie Martin, Cíarán Farrell, Robbie Clarke, Ruairí Clarke, Andrew Kelly, Subs: Martin Jennings for Chris McGurran Brian Rooney for Séan Clarke Cian Kavanagh for Ruarí Clarke Mark Mulligan for Andrew Kelly Panel:  Kevin Finnan, Liam Barry, Shane Warde, Séan Costello, Daniel Kerby, Patrick Grogan, Nathan Conroy.